St. Aidan's Orthodox Church, Manchester

A Visual Guide to the Orthodox Church

The Patriarchate of Constantinople is the first among equals in the Orthodox Church, a primacy of presidency and honour but not jurisdiction.

The Patriarchate of Antioch is the third in precedence after the Patriarchates of Constantinople and Alexandria.

Together these 14 self ruling (autocephalous)

local churches and their dependencies constitute the Orthodox Church which is the One, Holy, Catholic and Apostolic Church.


The formerly Orthodox churches of the west (now known as Protestant and Roman Catholic) are currently in schism with Orthodoxy.

Orthodoxy has returned to the west since this Schism in 1054 AD as global extensions of its eastern patriarchates

The Orthodox Church is not a denomination or a collection of denominations.  Neither is it "eastern".  It is simply the Church by virtue of its organic and faithful continuity from the time of the Apostles.




M: 07780 970884

T:  0161 456 8167




Quick Links

Archdiocese of the British Isles and Ireland

Orthodox Christianity for Absolute Beginners


Our Archbishop

H. E.Metropolitan Silouan (Oner)


© 2018 St. Aidan's Orthodox Church. All Rights ReservedPrivacy Policy


If anything published here (or also by us and off a link) inadvertently violates any other copyright, please contact here and this will be immediately rectified.